top of page
  • Craig

Staying online while traveling


While your hotel certainly should have Wi-Fi, and many cafés will also, what about trying to check the bus or tram website while you are at the bus or tram stop?

Yes, I use Google maps and got offline maps of the places we are visiting saved; but while it may tell we where the station is, off line Google won't tell me when the bus I need is coming.

T-Mobile now has a plan that lets you use your data and phone overseas without having to change your SIMM card! While that is on my list of things to get next trip, I still prefer to look at websites on my Wi-Fi only big screen iPad. (Go ahead and laugh at my eyesight... you'll get yours soon enough.)

Skyroam

So I bought a Skyroam. This is a mobile hotspot that runs about $99, and often comes with several days of connectivity included. If you wish to buy additional days, it runs about $8 a 24 hour day, if you buy in bulk. No contracts, I have 8 days of service loaded up in preparation of my trip, and can use it when in Turku to check which bus to get on, or while in Tallinn trying to find a place to eat in the middle of our hike around the city walls.

About the size of a deck of cards, I can charge it with a USB cable into one of my spare ports on the chargers I have. I will be able to turn it on and be able to surf with unlimited global data just about anywhere... and connect up to 5 devices to it. Don't plan on streaming videos, but it should be great for getting around on some unplanned trek, or if there are last minute plans away from the hotel or café.

I had my Skyroam in Barcelona, but never needed it... but it was a great insurance plan. I know I will use it this trip, but I doubt if I will need it every day... but I have it if I need it.

https://www.skyroam.com/ for details

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page